Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Blasting near Fresh Concrete 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

CivilEQuinn

Civil/Environmental
Jul 14, 2006
US
Hi,

I am a site engineer for a local public utility. We are installing a new 14'x14' reinforced cast-in-place box sewer. Our contractor has previously blasted rock encountered but has recently requested shortening the distance of the blasting operations to freshly placed concrete.

My question is: what are the distance and vibration (peak particle velocity) limits that we should adhere to when the new box slab is placed in relation to the blasting operations. The slab will be 50-100 feet away from the blasting, while the highest PPV we're been getting from monitoring is <1 (.4 -.8 ppv)

I found a study from the early 80's by Ralph Spears ( and another ( Does anyone know of a more recent study/paper that might be relevant?

Thanks ahead for any assistance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would suggest maybe deleting your post here and reposting this in the Structural engineering forum. There you'll have a better chance of structural engineers responding to your quesry.

2 ips or less is generally recommended as a safe limit for residential structures and a significantly higher limit is generally safe for concrete structures, however, it depends on the tensile strength. Limits would be highly dependant on the strength of your "freshly placed" concrete.

0.2 ips or less is recommended to avoid disturbing the public

Good resource, not more recent, but that makes no difference - see chapter 7:

Publication Number: EM 1110-2-3800
Title: Engineering and Design - Systematic Drilling and Blasting for Surface Excavations