Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Block Valve?? On/Off Valve?? Terminology from standard or codeor hand book please. 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

fshnvce

Mechanical
Nov 9, 2012
AE
I am just out of university.

My background is Chemical Engineering, right now i am dealing with the specifications (related to valves).

Last month I spent close to 40 hours ( 5 working days, 8 hours a day, full time) studying API (6A, 6D, 6DSS, 598, 600, 602, 607, 6FA, 609) & ANSI B 16.34 to understand the basics and took down the notes and i visited our project stores and have seen various types of valves

My boss pulled few strings and i was taken on a tour of a couple of reputed valve manufacturers and i was there in their assembly & test shop for 2 days and witness various tests (seat test, back seat test, shell test and ome of the exotic tests including cryoginic testing, understand that this is not a common valve testing requirement and was lucky to witness vacuum test (though i did not understand a couple of aspects of it). I was reasonably confident till i stubbled this situation.

My boss has endowed me with the following task
I am supposed to write a purchase specification (not more than 3 pages long) but i am supposed to take care of all project requirements (which is not many) and i am supposed to be objective and not miss important requirements.

There are very few Project specific requirements

1) all Block valves are required to be subjected to additional high pressure gas test
2) All On/Off valves are required to be fugitive emission tested.

Since i have to write the purchase specificaiton for Gate valve, are all gate valves Block Valve, are Gate valves considered as On/Off valves

A) In which valve standard can i find what exactly are classified as block valves