Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Bonding vs Grounding 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

insitebuilders

Specifier/Regulator
Jun 26, 2007
US
Disclosure, I'm an architect (yes I know, that says it all...;-)

I noticed in the NEC that bonding jumpers are required between the *metal* boxes, raceways, etc to provide GF continuity. I've also noticed them on some jobs, but not all. I can't figure out if this secondary GF path is always required or just necessary when using a metal system... For example, not required if PVC conduit/boxes are used. Perhaps they are only req'd for certain Bldg Types?

One thought is that the bare copper wire found in most elec cable somehow preclude this jumper system since it seems integral w/ the entire grounding system (and does not seem to be coverd in the NEC. But that's only an "aesthetic" observation.

Can anyone clarify this for me please?

Thx

Dennis

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Steel conduits, if installed correctly, can suffice as a grounding connection, per the NEC. Other raceways don't qualify as a grounding conductor and a separate jumper is required. Or not. Take a look at Article 250 in the NEC after you've had a couple of martinis.

Besides, we intentionally make it complicated for job security.

Anything metal that might become energized has to be grounded for safety reasons.

Thanks, I thk I get it. Especially with motor controls and other direct circuits

But it seems like if there is/was a bare copper wire in addition to neutral in a 3or4 wire cable bundle, it'd be acting as the GF path to ground anyway. Are these bare grounding wires not used in some cases for some reasons?

/D