Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Book recommendation on "beginning" residential structural engineering 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

pspe

Mechanical
Jun 20, 2009
US
Hi,
I am a mechanical engineer and would like to learn more about residential structural engineering. Is there a good book that has practical problems? I have experience with the "Schaums outline" which I like very much, unfortunately there is no specific "residential structural" book in this series.

Any suggestions?

Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There is a book titled "Design of Wood Structures" by Breyer, Fridley, Pollock & Cobeen. It is quite comprehensive and although it is not suited for residential specifically, it would cover just about everything you need for residential structural design. Quite a few example problems and practical applications of wood design.

When I started years ago, I used "Simplified Design of Building Structures" by James Ambrose, Wiley, 1979. Clear examples.

Also, get a copy of the state Building Code (Residential). In some (many?) states it is really prescriptive and directive in nature.

The most interesting for me (though not structural engineering) is"Get Our House Right", by Marianne Cusato & Ben Pentreath.2007, Sterling Publishing.

I believe many states allow Professional Engineers to completely design residential work and stamp the drawings.

Good luck.