Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Boolean Operation Real Usage in CATIA?

Status
Not open for further replies.

waqahmad

Mechanical
May 28, 2002
PK
Hi All,

This is my first message on this forum. I am an expert user of Pro/Engineer But recently we have shifted ourselves from Pro/E to CATIA V5R16. So I am very kind of new to CATIA V5.

I have a question which I will be obliged if some of you could answer. What exactly is the purpose of Boolean Operation in CATIA V5. As I dont see it helps much in making shapes which are not possible to make through parametric modeling. There is one valid point about Boolean Features that its fast in regeneration/update. Besides this point can someone elaborate me on their real usage. There are many shapes that can be modeled with or without Boolean Operation so my question would be when to use Boolean Operation and when not to? OR is it just an old obsolete tool which DS is keeping it along just to leverage the old users of CATIA??

I will really appreaciate anyone's remarks on the above mentioned issue.

Regards

waqahmad

Replies continue below

Recommended for you