Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Bosch Common Rail Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

don1001

Mechanical
Feb 22, 2005
US
Hi I am new to this engine development stuff so I have a lot to learn. I am taking a position with a research company in the near future and I am trying to get a head start on one of my first assignments.

I will need to do a make vs. buy on a controller/driver for development purposes. The system has to drive a Bosch common rail injection system. I am wondering if there are off the shelf development controllers that can be purchased or if anybody can advise on companies that can do the development as well as the price ranges I might expect.

Like I said I am trying to educate myself before day one. I know enough to be dangerous right now but this is what I currently know to be needed. Has to be a multi-pulse system with overdrive voltage capability. They also want to duty cycle each injection pulse and electronically vary the duty cycle at each injector. We also need a to to control the fuel pump bypass valve. Basically need to be able to control the each injector for timing, duration, pulses, voltage overdrive, duty cycles, pressure and phasings.

Thanks for the help

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Don't know if your'e talking about gasoline or Diesel.

There are several companies that make universal controllers for automotive aftermarket. Electromotive, Accel, and others. You can find them on the internet. To get a custom unit you might need high volumes or deep pockets.

If you need to educate yourself try one of the books such as Probst's book about Bosch systems. There are several but that is a good one. Some of them are not very good.