Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Brake Heat Rejection???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Overrun

Automotive
Dec 30, 2014
US
Is there a need for enhanced brake heat rejection? There seems to be an attitude that heat rejection is fully mature with no room for improvement –not even a brake thread in this forum.

What I have is a cross discipline new means –additive to the existing convection/radiation mechanisms -for heat rejection that avoids the conventional heat sinking for delayed cooling. I’d be happy to go into more detail is there’s interest, but my question is essentially to the need and profile of the brake industry. My background is a bit eclectic but includes suspension enhancements and midlevel race engineering (shoestring but the team did win a TV race). But I have few present contacts.

Any thoughts?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am sure you will get plenty of interest here if you want to discuss your concept. With the exception of trucks, brake fade is rarely a problem in road use. Heat rejection will become even less an issue with the emergence of brake energy recovery.

Engineering is the art of creating things you need, from things you can get.

Agreed as to normal street use and energy harvesting. However, there would seem to be an opportunity even on these vehicles to lighten the rotor by decreasing the heat sink load. Class 8 trucks (new distance requirements) and competition vehicles would seem to be the more likely. My take is that the brake suppliers serve various users.

I have no qualms about the tech and theory discussion. But I’m walking a bit of a fine line as a new poster as to spam. I’d rather do so with interest pull rather than push by me.