Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Breaker Refurbishment

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectroNerd

Electrical
Oct 18, 2008
US
I am very new to my position which is power system reliability and maintenance engineer at a Tire MFG plant. I inherited this job and a circuit breaker refurbishment project. The project consists of sending out Westinghouse DS-206, electrically operated, circuit breakers out for complete refurbishment and having a new trip kit installed. Typically we send the trip overload unit to the vendor because of a contract we have with the trip kit supplier. Since I am involved now, I have seen some of the cost to do a refurbishment on just one of these breakers. I thought the price was very expensive considering the breaker is smaller than a car engine. My question is, does anyone have an idea of average costs to have these breakers refurbished? Or is the vendor taking us for a ride. What medium voltage breakers?
Thank's,
Steve W.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You can also price complete refurbished breakers for another comparison point. These are available from multiple suppliers.

I'm not sure the size comparison to a car engine has much relevance. A pacemaker is pretty small, but costs many times what a car engine costs. That's not something I'd want to cut corners on either.

Not sure what refirbishment really covers, so your answer depends on what is being done to it. Replating, replacement of all bearings, pawls, rings, etc. Repainting of all painted surfaces (Powder coat like the OEM)? Mech disassembled and properly lubricated? Waranty?