Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Brick wall uplift connection

Status
Not open for further replies.

CodeQuandary

Civil/Environmental
Jul 26, 2014
US
I have to look over engineering analyses of uplift of beams attached to the top of a brick wall. The wall is 12" wide multiwythe unreinforced solid brick, the uplift force is typically between about 300 and 1000#. I'm not an engineer but my physics background helps me follow the reasoning and calculations involved.

I have looked at many dozens of these, stamped by many different PE's. Far and away the most common method of attachment is a bolt or threaded rod embedded in the top of the wall 6-10" with Hilti HY70 or equivalent epoxy. In looking into this further, I've realized that the HY70 ratings are for mounting into the side of the wall, not the top, and require a 16" distance from edges, obviously not possible in the top of a 12" wall. Some other approaches include essentially the same but with anchoring cement in the hole, or threaded or mechanical expansion devices (typically with fairly shallow embedment, 2-4").

I've talked with engineers at Hilti, and they basically said they have no tests or reliable way of determining the best way to do this. I've done a fair bit of web research. I've talked with several experienced structural engineers. I have found no solid information, nor really anything that could justifiably be called "best practices".