Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Bricscad - the good, the bad and the ugly

Status
Not open for further replies.

dacotua09

Civil/Environmental
Feb 19, 2009
I am a small operator and looking to cut some costs, especially with the tough economy weighing heavily on my operation. I am considering a move to Bricscad from AutoCAD but would appreciate some honest feedback from those who have made the switch partially/or fully. I am especially interested in the bad and the ugly to help me better gauge the risks.

Thanks in advance

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sorry I cant be very specific because its been a while since I tried Briscad and Turbocad also. The hard fact was it just doesn't perform like Autocad.

I made it policy for my organisation to stick with Autocad because it is simply the best in the market. The long history of Autocad has a lot to do with it too.

Although the capital cost is higher in the lond term you have a superior product.

chicopee,

I am in the civil site development business. I would also be interested if everyone knows of any civil applications have be ported to Bricscad. I am particularly interested in experience with the latest version of Brics as I understand there were issues in the past.

I'm biased because I run IMSI/Design, we've been making CAD software for a few decades now... most recently, we've released DoubleCAD XT (free) and DoubleCAD XT PRO.

I won't make specific product comparison comments. I will say that AutoCAD certainly is a good product... and no doubt is the standard in the industry. AutoCAD LT certainly benefits from being under the AutoCAD umbrella.

But -- especially in tough times like now -- there really are solid, reliable, .DWG alternatives.