Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Bridge Engineer vs. Land Development Engineer Career Guidance 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

odu0485

Civil/Environmental
Sep 28, 2014
US
Hi,

I have been a bridge engineer for about 6 months now at my firm and for a short time at a previous employer. Now that I am working in a multi-disciplinary environment, I'm finding that my interests are broadening rather than being focused on one thing (bridges) as before. I've been thinking lately about how different, easier, etc.. it would be to change specialties (if even possible) and work in general civil/site/land development. A good friend of mine works in land development so I hear things from that end of the field too and it appears interesting as well. But I know at some point, we have to pick one area and stick to it as it probably gets harder to do so as time goes on. I feel like I need to stay in the discipline I'm in for a good couple of years to really test it out and also for the sake of not having a bad looking resume which already looks like job jumping due to trying to find my path since college. I know no one field is perfect and there will always be hard days. Any guidance or thoughts on these ideas are greatly welcome. Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would get all the experience you can get in bridges as a young lad. I feel like LD is a much broader field, and when times are good, easier to get a job in even if your experience is limited.

When everyone got laid off 2008-2010, the only jobs around were for niche engineers: bridges, highways, wastewater, etc ....