Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Broke and in need of an education

Status
Not open for further replies.

patrickkieran

Civil/Environmental
Oct 6, 2009
US
I created the last post on transferring to a non ABET school, and realize to be a respected engineer I must graduate from an ABET institution. Now my concern is where to go and how to pay for it. I could return to Manhattan College, and end up 70,000$ in debt after graduating (I'm already in debt 35 k for freshmen and sophmore year), or go to UMASS and only be in debt around 50 k.(BTW 100% of education cost is on my shoulders, no one else, and I'm only twenty) My question is, does it really matter to employers where I have a degree from? I am hoping to get into Green Building Engineering and become LEED AP as soon as possible. How much weight is put on your undergraduate degree? College just doesn't seem to justify it's own cost to me.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The debt you are indicating could be less than your one year salary after 2-3 years, if you do the right things. Entry level engineering positions offer more than $50K in New England area. Do your math.

You do need a degree to get started the right way. A few gifted folks can tell you the stories as to how they did well without a degree, but those would be exceptions. Even those would have done even better, had they had the degrees.

Rafiq Bulsara

Time to go to CUNY...City College has a great Engineering program and you will receive a Bachelors of Engineering (ABET Accredited) vs. a Science degree.

Tobalcane
"If you avoid failure, you also avoid success."

If you like cheese and beer, UW-Milwaukeee has respectable underpriced and underrated ABET accredited program.