Building a CAD Portfolio

Status
Not open for further replies.

FutureAmerican

Materials
Jul 20, 2008
CA
Hi all,

(I'm posting a background of myself here first, if you just want to read the CAD stuff, skip to the end)

It's been a while since I posted on here - my background in summary is that I graduated from Imperial College London with a Bachelor's in Materials Science/Engineering, working in a Project Engineer capacity for a small Oil&Gas Company, mainly doing Project Management type work with MS Project, some procurement/budgeting, and some welding procedure qualifications.

I moved out to the US in 2007, made the mistake of not finding new Engineering work as I wanted to go in a different direction (Law Enforcement), unfortunately that didn't work out so well, but I went back into Oil&Gas Engineering in 2008 - I was on a good training program but the sector collapsed where I was and so I wound up working as a Hospital Security Guard. That's been my sector for 2 1/2 years now, although I'm now a Supervisor so we're just about covering the bills.

I enlisted into the Army National Guard last year, am currently in an Infantry platoon, and should be going to OCS next year (incidentally, Infantry and Airborne School is a great way to remind yourself things can always be worse - sleeping outside in a rainstorm or jumping out of a plane!). Although I might choose Corps or Engineers or Signal as my Officer Branch, at the end of the day I'm planning on using the education benefits as the primary way of furthering my civilian career, along with the contacts I've been making at the unit.