Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Building a Magnetic HEart

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarcCo

Civil/Environmental
Oct 15, 2011
CA
I'm an artist, currently based in Montreal, and I'm working on an urban installation that involves magnets.
The concept is I want to build a big heart (around 3 meters height/ 2 meters length/1 meter depth) that has a big attraction power.
The attraction will be the work of magnets, so it will be like a magnetic heart. The name of the piece is 'Hang on to my heart' and the idea is to experience the attraction force when moving close to the heart, (through metal objects within us)
To have the strongest possible attraction power, I've been told it is best to use electromagnet that would be placed inside the heart, I want the force to be felt from both sides.
Since my knowledge in magnets and engineering in general is pretty limited, I need help from people who know how this stuff works.

1.What is the best magnet or electro magnet that should be put inside the heart to have maximum attraction force + practicality?

2.Where or how can i find this or these magnets?

I'm thinking of maybe create a smaller version for a start to experiment with the concept and get it right.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, if anyone would be interested to collaborate on this project, I"m open to that too.

marc,,,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

ok,
It's true that Wiping out credit cards though an interesting concept, is not the purpuse.
The purpuse is for people to feel smthng, an experience, it can be subtle but it has to be there, what would be a good balance?
Is strong magnet smthng really dangerous?

Very bad idea!