Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Building Lighting as Drawn vs. as Installed 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

SDestimator

Electrical
Jul 13, 2006
US
First, a bit of background info on myself. I am a 20 year journeyman electrician in Southern California. I was a foreman running jobs for a good part of that time. I recently took a position as an estiamtor for a mid-size electrical contractor.

My question concerns the way lighting systems in building interiors are drawn as opposed to how they are actually installed.

The vast majority of plans show lighting circuits routing form space to space via J-Boxes in ceiling spaces (or sometimes through the fixtures themselves). From these boxes or fixtures switchlegs are "dog-legged" down to switch boxes in the wall. I will get to some of the things I feel are an issue with this method in a minute.

On to how lighting systems are (usually) installed.

Most lighting systems are installed by feeding power directly from switchbox to switchbox then bringing switchlegs from the switchbox to the fixtures served (usually local to the space) by the switch.

Now the issues.

First, the cieling J-Box method of drawing makes for very cluttered lighting drawings. Routing the live circuits from switch to switch and the switchlegs to the fixtures served makes the intent of the drawings more clear in my opinion.

Second, using fixtures as landing points for unswitched circuits is less friendly fom a maintenance standpoint(granted there are times when it is necessary, such as emergency lighting battery charging circuits). If a fixture can be safely shut down at a local switch rather than shutting the whole lighting circuit down, there is less impact as far as possible interference with lighting in other spaces.