Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Bushing Tolerances 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aconnell

Aerospace
Sep 1, 2004
CA
Hello, I am an junior engineer at a smaller repair and overhaul company and I am writing a process specification for the installation of shrink fit and press fit bushings in mettalic structure. I am having trouble determining what interferences should be used. I was wondering if anyone knows of any industry specifications (possibly AMS or MIL Spec) that I could reference.

I would greatly appreciate any feed back.

Alex C

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have an excellent bushing installation spec, drawings, and process description that I have used for years. I've found that when used, freeze fit bushings can be installed with light tapping and perfect fit every time.

I tried machinerys' handbook a few times and found the tolerances too wide. Sometimes the bushings fall in and don't hold and somtimes you beat on them so hard you damage the bushing or even worse, damage the hole making the situation that much more compicated.

Alex
Take a look at the bushing and other products on offer from FTI at for their mandrel installed bushes, and other products, it may change your life.
PS: I have no interest in this company other than what I have seen and heard.
Good luck,
Ed

HSThompson I would really appreciate it if you wouldn't mind sending me that installation spec, but I'm not sure how to contact you outside of this site.

Sorry it's taken so long for me to respon. We gotta take some vacation sometime.

Anyway, I'm not sure either, I recieved an e-mail from this site warning about not giving out e-mail addresses.