Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CA Geotechnical Engineering Exam 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

geoengineer24

Civil/Environmental
Dec 21, 2021
US
Can anyone provide help as to how you studied for this exam? I have over 15 years of experience and have failed the exam 3 times now. The exam is extremely poorly written; it's very subjective and there are always two correct answers. There is no book to study off of; most of the exam questions you can only answer based on experience. There's a reason why only 20% pass every year. Also, I feel like they take the top 20% every year no matter what your % is. The very vague results of deficient, proficient and marginal categories does absolutely nothing to help you for next time around.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The exam is crafted and presented to a group of volunteers selected by peers and the Board of Registration. This group reviews and refines the content based on the scope of work a geotechnical engineer will be working in. This group works to remove ambiguities and/or trick questions, yet includes questions that may appear to be odd (figure out estimated consolidation settlement of a new building adjacent to an existing building based on the existing building settlement performance from date of construction). You had to used this info to solve for consolidation parameters to solve the settlement questions for the new building.