Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Cable Rails, ASCE 7, 4.5.1?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jim Z

Structural
Jan 30, 2020
US
OK - first timer here. In interest of full disclosure, I'm an architect, but there was no category for such on joining info, but hope I'm still allowed! A local building inspector is concerned, I think rightly so, about the cables in a cable rail system a developer is using on a building we've designed. The issue is that the bldg code requires limitation of passage of a 4" sphere. The cables will deflect enough to allow passage of that sphere, if pushed hard enough. The code for intermediate rails says they shall be designed to resist a concentrated load of 50# in accordance with Section 4.5.1 of ASCE 7. Havent been able to get a look at that yet. However, I'm thinking that the cables will certainly withstand 50#, but will stretch in doing so. Any help with how ASCE 7 4.5.1 is applied here? Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

See below for the section from ASCE 7-10
ASCE 7-10 said:
4.5.1 Loads on Handrail and Guardrail Systems
All handrail and guardrail systems shall be
designed to resist a single concentrated load of 200 lb
(0.89 kN) applied in any direction at any point on the
handrail or top rail and to transfer this load through
the supports to the structure to produce the maximum
load effect on the element being considered.
Further, all handrail and guardrail systems shall
be designed to resist a load of 50 lb/ft (pound-force
per linear foot) (0.73 kN/m) applied in any direction
along the handrail or top rail. This load need not be
assumed to act concurrently with the load specifi ed in
the preceding paragraph, and this load need not be
considered for the following occupancies:
1. One- and two-family dwellings.
2. Factory, industrial, and storage occupancies, in
areas that are not accessible to the public and that
serve an occupant load not greater than 50.