Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CAD designer with wrist & forearm pain seeking new career 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

gesigner

Mechanical
Apr 29, 2002
US
I've worked for the last nine years as a CAD designer. Two years ago, I completed a Bachelor's Degree in Career and Technical Education and a year after that, I started having wrist pain. I tried several different mice and ergonomic setups but nothing helped much and the pain has now spread into my forearm and shoulder. I've seen several doctors, been to therapy and do daily stretches and ice, but nothing has helped and the pain is now starting to interrupt activities outside of work.

New study - wrist pain/mouse usage

I want to get away from using the mouse 8+ hours a day but I'm not sure what type of careers are available to someone with my background and education. I have thought of trying teaching/training but don't know how much mousing that would involve - probably some, but hopefully much less than I currently do. I've also thought of getting a Master's Degree in something (possibly education), but I'm not sure what.

Does anyone have any suggestions for other areas - consulting, etc. or does know anything about the teaching/training field?

Thanks for the help.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you