Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Calculating Kw

Status
Not open for further replies.

nitro

Electrical
Apr 12, 2001
US
I'm an electrical engineer in the US and need to clarify a dispute with a co-worker. We are working on a project in Russia where voltage and hertz are different from the US. We are sizing Generator Sets and have to calculate kVA to kW @ 50Hz.

What is the formula for converting kVA to kW for 50Hz? I know it is not he same as 60Hz (kVA * pf). I say kW is higher than kVA at 50Hz and kW is lower or equal to kVA at 60Hz depending on Power Factor (pf). Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thank You,
Nitro

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

nitro,

Sorry to say but you will have to buy the drink for your co-worker. The laws of electrical engineering do not change just because the fundamental frequency is different. KW is always equal to KVA times power factor. This can get more detailed if we start talking about displacement power factor versus true power factor so for arguments sake just assume no harmonics exist.

;)

nitro, just one more thing. KW can never be larger than KVA. Again, the fundamental definitions of electrical engineering are still maintained.

KVA = sqrt(KW^2 + KVAR^2)

If you play around with this in a spreadsheet, you will see that KW can never exceed KVA. The best you can get is KW=KVA and that occurs when the power factor is 100%.

Thank Infomanic, but we still have some old-timers here think there's a difference depending on hertz, I'm not one of them. Ant published works on this? Thanks again.

Nitro