Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Calculating Nozzle Width 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

iceveil

Computer
Jul 13, 2015
US
So I'm not very experienced in terms of aerospace design (at all), but I've been looking for a formula to help me estimate nozzle thickness given temperature at the throat, exhaust area, and choice of nozzle material (which I still have yet to decide) etc.. I have found the general guideline that the nozzle thickness is roughly the same as the thrust chamber thickness, but I'm looking for something a bit more specific; this is in case for say my choice of nozzle material differed from that of the thrust chamber et al.. I'm really approaching this from more of a theoretical point of view and so am light on the details. Anyway I was wondering if anyone knew of a formula or could point me in the right direction. Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

icevail...

Some references that may be useful...

MIL-HDBK-762 DESIGN OF AERODYNAMICALLY STABILIZED FREE ROCKETS ... has some info on rocket nozzle design.

Introduction to Solid Rocket Propulsion

Regards, Wil Taylor

o Trust - But Verify!
o We believe to be true what we prefer to be true.
o For those who believe, no proof is required; for those who cannot believe, no proof is possible.
o Unfortunately, in science what You 'believe' is irrelevant. ["Orion"]
o Learn the rules like a pro, so you can break them like an artist. [Picasso]

Might also want to check-out...

AMCP 706-242 ENGINEERING DESIGN HANDBOOK. DESIGN FOR CONTROL OF PROJECTILE FLIGHT CHARACTERISTICS.

AMCP 706-285 Engineering Design Handbook. Elements of Aircraft and Missile Propulsion

AGARD-CP-194 Small Solid Propellant Rockets for Field Use.

NOTE.