Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Calculating Pole Embedment

Status
Not open for further replies.

bridgebuster

Jun 27, 1999
US
I’m a bridge engineer and occasionally I have to design a utility pole.

We’re working for a contractor and he needs to hang traffic signals between two poles. The span wire will be 34’-6” above grade. The signal designer came up with Class H-1 poles embedded 9’. The electrician can't get 45' H-1 poles on short notice (and they have to install them next week), but he has plenty of Class 1 poles. The signal designer said he didn’t know how design reinforcement for the pole. We’re going to reinforce the Class 1 pole by bolting a smaller length Class 1 pole to it (7/8” threaded rod at 9”). My original idea was to guy the pole or install the Pole Enforcer, which would’ve been much simpler than bolting two poles together; they don’t want to do it.

The person who checked the pole reinforcing design stated that 9’ embedment is too little; it needs to be 16’ per the IBC formula. I’m aware of the 10%+2’ etc rule used in pole design; I also know it’s not always accurate. Anyway, I was asked to check the embedment and used the method in USDA 1724e 200, which gave me about 8 ½’. Our geotech said the USDA method isn’t valid and he used Bromm’s method and came up with 13’ embedment.

I’d like to know how people who know what they’re doing calculate pole embedment. Also, if you have any thoughts on pole reinforcement, I’d be happy to hear them too.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I've always heard from others that embedment used by utility companies for their poles will never figure under the IBC.

I checked it once and found the embedment needed to be much greater under the IBC than the standard 8 to 10 feet.

Perhaps that's why I see so many leaning utility poles.