Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Calculation of Design load and Wroking load for soil nails BS8006:2011 - TfNSW 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

NickWarrier

Civil/Environmental
May 25, 2023
AU
Hi,

I am a graduate student from Melbourne Australia and my senior engineer has given me a task to develop an Excel sheet on soil nails referencing AS 4678 which only provides guides hence working with BS8006:2011 and CIRIA C637.

I am stuck on how to calculate the design load and Working load for soil nails .. Any guidance from anyone familiar with these codes

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

So basically, I am developing an Excel Design sheet for Soil Nailed Walls referencing AS 4678 and a design guide from Chris Bridges. I am stuck in finding out Ultimate Pullout Load which I need to find bond stress. I am using CIRIA 637 for reference.

CIRIA 637 refers to clause 8.9.2 which states that the ultimate pullout load can be found by multiplying the design load with a factor of 1.5.

I am stuck on what can be the design load and Working load. Is it a Bolt property supplied by the manufacturer?

I am attaching a reference for CIRIA 637. Any help from anyone familiar with this code would be helpful.

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=87875b81-78c4-4434-ad2d-3b2c5d497a67&file=Soil_Nail_Sheet.pdf
Nick - I was hoping someone more experienced in soil nails than me was going to comment but not yet. I have done a quick review and some comments below.

I agree the C637 is unclear as to what the design load is. From my interpretation I believe the design load is the load that the nails have to support which comes from the geometry of the slope, loads applied and nail spacing/length/diam.

In CIRIA 637, Eurocode 7 is considered. In EC7 you work out Design Approach 1 Combination 1 (DA1C1) or Design Approach 1 Combination 2 (DA1C2) , generally.