Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can a worthwhile masters degreebe obtained from an online college?

Status
Not open for further replies.

briandestefano

Civil/Environmental
Apr 7, 2008
US
I graduated from a four year school last year with a BS in civil engineering and I am interested in obtaining a masters degree. I want to keep working during the days and do schoolwork at night. I don't live or work close enough to any colleges that offer any type of civil engineering education to commute a few times a week. So my question is: are there any worthwhile online degree programs that I could look into. I've done some research but I'm having some trouble finding unbiased information, as most of my information is coming from the online colleges themselves.

Any information from anyone who has done it or looked into it themselves would be very helpful. thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

greenspruce,
where I work there are several people who graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering and are working in the structural department. Both individuals have been with for several years, starting out as cad-techs. It is possible, you just have to accumulate the necessary amount of experience in that field.

You may be interested in this:

This program offers a regular USC degree to online students. Classes are the same as classroom classes.