Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can I stamp drawings as a sole proprietor for my full time employer? 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

GAtowers

Structural
Jan 10, 2013
US
I am a licensed professional engineer in 20+ states. I obtained my licenses at a previous job. My current company is owned by one person who is a construction manager by trade. We are expanding our engineering services into other states but have been stifled in NC and FL by their requirement that registered firms are owned in part by licensed engineers. Can I register as a sole proprietor in those states and continue to sign the drawings under my employer's titleblock? Would I still fall under my employer's liability insurance? Can I claim to be a sole proprietor in this scenario? If I can't, we would pay a sole proprietor to sign our drawings anyway, so why can't that be me?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You can't pretend to be a sole proprietor. That would be fraud. But you don't have to have sole ownership, just part. If you are the only engineer in the company, you need to have some ownership in order for the company to qualify. Another option would be to found your own company, and do the work under contract. Then you would be working for yourself. And don't depend on your employer's liability insurance...it won't be the type insurance you need for professional work.

Are you saying I could form an LLC but not a sole proprietorship? We have professional liability insurance. We provide these services in other states. And he won't sell me part of the company. I believe in NC he'd have to sell me 2/3. He would never consider that big of a piece and who could blame him.