Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can I use a double helical pinion with a herringbone gear?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jarimasen

Mechanical
Aug 18, 2003
MX
At one of the plants they are asking me the following:

They have a NEW double helical pinion (it has a gap in the middle) and they have a USED herringbone gear.. You can see where this is going...

They are supposed to be same pitch, et cetera... However, I have not seen before a double helical pinion with a herringbone gear. I am no expert in gears, and so I could not think of a reason why it can't be. So, is this possible? Are there justified reason against this mixed match??

Photo of pinion is not actual pinion, but very similar

Photo of gear is the real gear

Regards,
JM
thread406-77165

JM

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

A herringbone gear is a type of double helical gear. So if what you say is correct about the pinion & gear geometries (DP/module, pressure angle, helix angle, profile mods, etc) being compatible, then they should work together. The only thing to watch for is that the inner edges of the double helical pinion teeth (ie. at the center gap) are never allowed to contact the radiused center section of the herringbone tooth flanks, as shown in your photo. Double helical gear pairs will self-align in the axial direction, so at least one gear of the pair must have sufficient axial float to allow this to happen. Take this into account when checking for interference between inner edges of the double helical teeth and herringbone tooth flank apex fillets.