Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Can sustaining engineers change production drawings without product development engineers' knowledge 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

ThinCap

Mechanical
Oct 17, 2019
US
I am a product development engineer working with this company and found something interesting: once I developed a product and it's in production, any sustaining engineer can change the drawings/parts without my knowledge. I am just wondering if this is also the case in your company or if this is considered as normal? Then why I have to go through all the design review process and sustaining engineers don't have to? Any ISO code says you can't do this? Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sounds like your particular employer has an issue if the sustaining team's updates don't have to undergo rigorous review and testing. And yes, its normal and accepted practice for other engineers to come in behind with only the knowledge and consent of management to change your design.

Rigorous review and testing is only for new product. Once it's in production, sustaining can change to whatever they like without any more review/testing. Management is OK with it. A chicken may become a duck.

ISO-900x simply says that you have to follow your own written procedures; the fact that your procedure is crock does not matter to the ISO inspectors.

We once spent 6 months and about $1M (back in 1986) on solving a yield issue, only to find out some obscure "product engineer" had decided to arbitrarily change the recipe, without telling anyone. AND to top that off, that exact problem had been identified in the literature more than 15 yrs prior.

To be fair, most developmental groups have a tendency to toss a product "over the wall" to production, and then merrily head off to their next product.