Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can you study Composite Design by Off-campus/Distance Learning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tetragrammaton

Aerospace
Nov 27, 2002
DE
Hi all :)

My background is that I work primarily in the Automotive and Aerospace disciplines for the last 20years, so I'm 40ish ;). Mostly I work on product design with high end CAD progams(Unigraphics NX/Catia/IDEAS etc). My qualification if is originally from Australia and is an Associate Diploma of Engineering which is something immediately below a Degree; as recognised in the UK.

So after all this time I feel I need/would like a change and feel that Composites is where I'd like to go.

I would like to know from those of you who have done this; is it possible to take a (or better still qualify in) Composites Engineering course by Off-campus/Distance Education (OC/DE) study modes?

I am contacting universities who specialize in Composite Engineering to ask them as one way to find out. I have spent the whole weekend googling and reading. I find there are some insitution out there that off some level of training via distance education. However I need to understand how well recognised Certifications from them are?

I found that UD & UW (Delaware & Washington) have some things but not alot. I have found that University of Plymouth, UK have a BEng of Mech. Eng with Composites but am waiting to speak with someone to know if it is available by Dist Ed/Off-campus study modes. I have a suspicion it will probably not be.