Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

CANDE-2007 Culvert Analysis and Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

pjlefeb

Structural
Mar 14, 2008
US
I am a structural engineer, trying to find some help with CANDE-2007. It is a FEA program designed to study soil-structure interaction with respect to culverts. It is a public-domain finite element program written to satisfy a FHWA grant, so I would expect to see some forums on the web. No such luck.

Does anyone know if people actually use this program? I'm not going to bother writing up my question if no one knows the program, so let's start there.

Thanks,

Paul

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Paul - I haven't used CANDE (although I almost certainly have downloaded it and have it sitting on my hard disk somewhere :)), but I do use other FEA programs for this sort of analysis all the time. If your question is not specific to the software then I may be able to help, and even if it is I'll have a look at the software and see if I can help if I have time.

So please post the question.

Doug Jenkins
Interactive Design Services

IDS,

Thanks for the response. The issue is that I am trying to model 3-sided culvert with an arched top deck and arched elbows, but with straight legs. The analysis type I am using is Level 2. I can successfully model an arch culvert as well as a culvert with straight legs and deck, but the problem may be with joining the two types of geometry. The program tells me the arch geometry is not self-consistent, but I know it is because I can model it in Autocad with the same dimensions and it works fine.

I'm happy to post the input file if anyone wants to see it.

Thanks,

Paul

IDS, another thing, you mentioned using other programs that can model the soil-structure interaction? Can you recommend a couple?