Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can't Create Assembly Dwg. in 2003 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Screwhead

Mechanical
Nov 18, 2003
US
I'm brand new to Solidworks working with a second hand version of 2003. While attempting to do the assembly exercise in the on line tutorial, I was directed to "open a new assembly" from the tutorial tab. I can only assume that there should be an "assembly" Icon along with the "part" Icon under the "Tutorial" tab. There is not! What could be wrong? Is something missing in the installation? The "part" operation seems to work fine except that it takes several attempts to grab a line and then it move hesitatingly. I'm using Win XP Pro and a Athlon +1700 (1.5 Gig) processor.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Not sure about the assembly icon in the tutorial tab but it's there with part and assembly icons in the default tab so you would think it should be there.

The hesitant response in part mode could be a video card issue. We have about 20 or so seats of SW. There are several different video cards depending on what came with which lot of computers IT bought. Mine doesn't have any issues but I know of at least 3 in drafting that do have similar video card issues. There are other differences also, mine is on windows 2000 and their's is on XP. IT thinks there's some compatability issues between SW, the video card drivers and the OS. The verdict is still out though.

Living in my own 3D world