Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Career advice 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

fade2blue

Mechanical
Dec 4, 2002
I graduated in 06 with a BS in Mech. Eng. I was unable to land an engineering job out or school and have been working a production line job to get by. While at school I was intensely involved in our FSAE program to the detriment of my GPA(2.5). The problem I have now is finding a job in or related to engineering. While working on the team I was responsible for suspension design (dynamic, structural, manufacturing) system integration and packaging, and improving overall design documentation including component modeling. I realize a career in automotive design is not obtainable with my credentials but I desperately need to move forward. I am looking for drafting positions to get in the door with no luck. Are there any specific fields that non genius engineers can find work in?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yup, as you suggest many grads start work as CAD operators. I'd apply to a Tier one supplier in CAD, move over to engineering, and then hope to hop across to a similar job for an OEM. Your GPA really only matters for your first job.

Statement of the obvious: find out what CAD system your chosen employer uses.

However if you were as good as you say you were at FSAE I would apply to OEMs direct.

If you can run ADAMS, and understand the output, then you should consider doing that in the short term, it is far more lucrative than CAD.

Cheers

Greg Locock

SIG:please see FAQ731-376 for tips on how to make the best use of Eng-Tips.

Doing the above as a contractor will move you into positiion even faster.

Don't turn your nose up to tier 2 or tier 3 work. You will likely get to do more actual design than your tier 1 friends. Just make sure you're working in an ISO or QS certified company.