Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Career Advice 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

DannyZucko

Electrical
May 13, 2009
GB
Hello,
I am an electrician from Scotland currently working offshore. I will shortly complete a HNC Electrical Engineering.
I am interested in becoming an electrical power engineer however I am unable to leave work and attend Uni full time.
Online I have found a MSc Electrical Power Engineering Degree with Bath Uni which they offer as Distance Learning.
This course is over 4/5 years and is all or nothing, you can only graduate with MSc.
An other option is the open uni, however this would be a general BEng Engineering.
Or I could study as far as a HND and leave it there.
Are there any other options available to study to BEng.
Any advice would be appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Bath has a very good reputation for its full-time electrical power courses, along with Manchester, Newcastle, Southampton and Imperial. I don't know which of these offer distance courses. I think Bath has / had close ties with the Grid and likely has a bias toward transmission. A good degree from any of the above listed on a CV would get my attention.