Career advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

juchem

Civil/Environmental
Jul 18, 2017
US
Hello,

I am a civil engg graduate with 2 yrs of work experience in Oil and gas industry as a design engg. After completing my Masters in Transportation Engg I worked as a traffic engg for 8 months. Worked as an asst prof in college overseas for 6 months too (in civil engg dept, training undergrads). Due to personal reasons, I couldn't take the FE exam and have a career break of 8 yrs now.

I am now ready to work again and ernestly seeking ways to go about it. Is FE really necessary to obtain a job in companies?? How much relevance do online certificate courses hold in gaining a job in the industry?

Any advice on how to go about it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Juchem.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

From my perspective as an EIT who does have his FE, it can't hurt to obtain. I worked for the railroad industry as a Construction/Project Manager capacity for about 18 months before leaving and going to a civil design job. For me and my current company, the FE was a must. I was also fortunate that my College's policy was in order to graduate, you had to take (not necessarily pass) the FE, but they did a lot to help us prepare to pass it. If you want to do "Civil Design" I would heavily suggest it. If you are looking to get back into the oil/gas industry (or other related fields) it may not be necessary, but once again can't hurt to have.