Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Career Crossroads - The Jump to Self Employment 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

ME27272727

Mechanical
May 15, 2014
US
Hello. I've searched and read almost every thread on eng tips regarding starting an engineering firm, so I figured it's time I make my own.

I'm a mechanical engineer working at a medium sized MEP firm. I have almost 10 years of experience and my PE. I'm flying up the chain and getting into management and away from engineering, but I'm not entirely crazy about it. I'm in a financial and professional position to make the move to self employment.

I feel I have 2 options: one-man shop or partner and start a firm. I'm leaning towards option 1. I'm extremely efficient in Revit and AutoCAD (and enjoy making drawings). Subscription based software and hardware has come down substantially in price over the years. I really feel I can be competitive on my own, and not have to worry about keeping employees busy.

Option 2 seems more lucrative, but I think I'm a little burned out from management and would like to be completely on my own to start out. If I get bored of being a one man show, I can always hire or partner up in the future.

This thread is just me thinking out loud. Did any of you start off one way and wish you went another? Any input is appreciated. Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Anything bigger than a one man show, your wise to partner up. Split the profit, but also the responsibility. Tough to find that perfect partner though.

I get several solicitations a week from people who want to do my drafting for very inexpensive prices. When the only qualification you list is drafting software, I have to wonder if you really have a firm handle on what it takes to succeed as a consulting engineer.