Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Career/Knowledge Advancement Advice 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Indiana Engineer

Structural
Jan 4, 2021
US
I am a fairly new EIT, I am wanting to pursue a career in structures. I have been working at a design build firm for a little over a year. I am looking for any tips that people have on the best ways to increase your knowledge base, and advance your career. Any helpful stories, tips, or hints are welcome. Any good books for knowledge advancement and to add to my bookshelf(academical or theoretical books)? Thanks in advance!!

I'm not a Structural Engineer, I defer the technical advice for that to the real engineers here. [wink]

One of the things I did as a young engineer was get involved with a couple of professional societies. It started out by simply attending local meetings and getting the feel of the culture therein. But it progressed to becoming active in the Chapter leadership over time. The benefits were:
[ul]
[li]networking, meeting people who became friends, colleagues, door-openers[/li]
[li]free or low-cost, low-effort, low-penalty training in group management and leadership skills[/li]
[li]exposure to other technologies, attitudes, and methods/techniques that helped expand and round out my personal skill set[/li]
[/ul]

I think it served me well over the years.

TygerDawg
Blue Technik LLC
Virtuoso Robotics Engineering

Your own company's employee policy is important.

I, myself, was misfortunate enough to land in a company that had as a policy to look for and support the 'number ones'.

Nothing wrong with that, if you at the same time works for and share internal knowledge with all, and want to make the whole staff and company best together. The company did not.

I survived, but, in the long run, not the company.

Indiana Engineer,

I have been in the same situation so I will share with you how I was able learn from whatever is around me and I am still learning.