Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Career Strategy Help 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

scninmn

Chemical
Mar 27, 2008
Hi,

I'm currently a process engineer with 13 years of experience in semiconductor and thin film processing. I have many strengths ranging from leadership and mentoring skils to technical analysis and problem solving.

At the current company that I work at, I can easily pursue the management chain and also go down a more technical path. Each would likely keep me mostly satisified.

When I think about what I want to do 2-5 years from now, I can mostly identify a roadmap for that, but when I think about 10 years from now, I'm quite lost.

How do you understand what you want to be doing 10+ years from now? To me, that is a different question, that what do I want to do 2-5 years from now.

Any thoughts?

Regards,

Scott

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

A virtually impossible question for anyone to answer for anyone else. A lot of factors are involved, age, location, family status, health, financial status etc. These all can impact your long term career goals. No one here can fully understand your circumstances so any "advice" is really only "opinion". You probably know the answer already but it may help to get thought provoking questions from others to help firm it up in your own mind.

with 13 years experience, presummably you are in your mid thirties. You should be setting money aside for retirement and at the same time be working toward being free of most major debts. If you are married perhaps your are considering or have started a family. What has this to do with career goals 10 years from now? Everything as you are establishing your "long term" lifestyle and need to decide which career path provides the best opportunities for you. The Semiconductor industry has a tendency to do some "boom" and "bust" cycling. Which career path would best weather such cycles.

Regards,