Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Career switch from electronics test engineer to control engineer

Status
Not open for further replies.

vinodh80

Electrical
Jul 19, 2009
MY
Hi all,I had been working as a CPU validation\test engineer for 5 years in Intel. Below are my skillsets:
1) Strong background in PC system architecture and experience in hardware-software interfacing.
2) Good grasp on Processor Architecture, Integrated Graphics Architecture and x86 instruction sets.
3) In depth knowledge of validation/test concepts mainly post-silicon hardware validation, execution and debug methodology.
4) Excellent problem solving skills in finding and resolving silicon and platform failures.
5) Strong software development skills in the Windows and Linux environment.
6) Proficiency in programming with x86 assembly language, C, C++, C#, HTML, Perl and Python scripting languages.
7) Familiarity with debug tools such as Oscilloscopes, Tektronix Logic Analyzers and JTAG tools.
8) Ability to perform root cause analysis on hardware and software failures at the Operating System (OS), Basic Input Output System (BIOS) and drivers.
9) Demonstrated ability to make solid technical decisions consistent with the project goals and schedule.
10) Ability to define, conduct DOE (Design of Experiment) and propose recommendations (critical thinking) based on data collection.
11) Experience in utilizing and automating CPU and graphics benchmarking tests (commercial content) for validation.
12) Experience in automating custom and commercial content for execution phase.