Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Casting Requirement ASME VIII-div2

Status
Not open for further replies.

oelindoe

Mechanical
Apr 7, 2004
NO
Hi guys. Im a novice to the ASME calculations and during a current job i've run into some problems... Hopefully someone can advice :)

Im doing a subsea flowmeter which consists of a inner venturi spool with various sensors. In order to protect the flow sensors electronics, an external housing is attached by welding to the inner flowspool end flanges. i.e the whole thing is defined after VIII-div2.

For practical reasons the external housing is prefferably made of casting. The cast manufactor has many feasible qualities we want to use, but they are not ASME approved.

The external housing is indeed a pressure vessel, but it is only a protective housing under static seawater pressure loading. All strength calculations for the housing follows the code.

What would be the next step for me now in order to follow VIII-div2?. Does the cast material have to be approved by ASME or are there any shortcuts (i.e verify ductility,hardness,NDT,etc)

Any advices ?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

oelindoe,
The ASME VIIII Div 2 has allowed a list of materials, including the castings, listed in the Section II, Table D. The welding of castings is not restricted in the Div. 2, but you have to follow closely the Section IX and the relevant Div. 2 recommendations.