Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CAT 3516 Exhaust Valve Failures

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trevelyan

Marine/Ocean
Apr 4, 2004
GB
This concerns exhaust valve failures (valve head separating from the valve spindle) on a CAT 3516 generator engine on an offshore jack-up drilling rig. The drilling rig went into service approx 8 months ago and therefore the engine has low running hours and has not yet reached the top overhaul interval.

I am interested to know if any other members have experienced this problem and if they were able to identify the reason for the failure.

I have seen, on the internet, other references to similar CAT 3516 failures but very little information as to the source of the problem. I have plenty of CAT 399 experience but have not personally worked on the 3500 series engines.

The engine is on a rig offshore West Africa and this is the second failure in the last 6 months. I have not been able to get on the rig and see the failure, so I'm relying on information sent to me.

Any advice appreciated...

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

do the seats have any evidence of severe blow by?
>maintenance trouble (to less a valve clearance)
what does caterpillar say?
>batch problem (manufacturer trouble)
did you check timing of camshafts?
>initial assembling problem

My first bet is the valves were manufactured offshore, companys need to relized just because your parts maybe cheaper it doesn't always mean, your going to save money.
Contact Cat if its under a year it should still be under warranty.

In agreement with dicer the most likely cause is that the valves are pattern made parts although the fact that they are relatively new suggest not.