Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cathodic Protection - in house or outside contract?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Truemanator

Electrical
Oct 22, 2008
US
We're working on a hydroelectric site with a steel penstock entering the powerhouse. There's a copper grounding grid in close proximity to the penstock, bringing concerns we may need to design cathodic protection.

I've spent a bunch of time working on it and everything seems very do-able. However, I did notice that there's people out there that do corrosion engineering for life. I'm an electrical power engineer type.

I've determined protection on the system is a good idea considering the circumstances of the structure. Would it be wise to get an outside expert contractor to design the protection system or would you guys consider it a task do-able if learned? I want to avoid investing too much more into this project.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Confronted with a fairly similar situation I employed a contractor to do the design & installation, and a consultant to act as Owner's Engineer. The guy who did the OE work picked up on a lot of things that I would have missed and resulted in a system which actually performed very well instead of one which had the appearance of performing well. I also learned a heck of a lot about CP in the process.

Depending on what you are protecting, don't look at the short term bottom line. Look at the knock-on effects on your operation of losing the penstock or whatever you are trying to protect. In my case it was main condenser lines for a CCGT plant, loss of which would have been a commercial disaster.

----------------------------------
image.php

If we learn from our mistakes I'm getting a great education!