Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Catia Piping Design workbench vs Catia Part pipe design 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

CAD2015

Computer
Jan 21, 2006
US
Hi,

What is the difference between creating a pipe with classical tools (G,S&D, or Part Design) vs using Piping Design workbench?

Thank you!

CAD 2015

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't have direct experience with the Piping Design app, but nobody else spoke up yet, so here's what I know about that may be helpful even if it's needing some additions or corrections. I have some experience with the Structures Design app and the Piping & Tubing app in 3DExperience, which may be a little different than the same tools in V5. Some of what I'll say is extrapolated from having more experience with Structures.

Classical tools basically do mechanical design where you can define a pipe profile and sweep it along a path. Repeat as much as needed. It's super flexible to make the details, but very difficult to make big changes that involve many parts simultaneously. You don't need all that flexibility anyway when really you're selecting and placing items from supplier catalogs.

The Piping app however is built to automate this task, and works with deep ties to catalogs. The default function is not to draw a sketch along a path, but rather to instantiate a pipeline along a path, or point to point, or whatever. (The sketches are still there, but handled automatically) It will create new parts continually, rather than reuse, which is more reflective of the real world in a way.