Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Centrifugal pump technical bid evaluation.

Status
Not open for further replies.

zipped

Mechanical
Jun 12, 2011
SA
Hello Friends
I have very little experience in technical bid evaluation. This question has haunted me several times.
My doubt is, if one has to evaluate a bid for 3 centrifugal pumps offered by 3 different vendors. What all parameters do an engineer consider/check to select the best pump among the three.
Step wise or priority wise solution would be appreciated.

Regards

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think these are the major points below. You might shuffle the priority based on your particular demands or add other criteria.

1. Technical - does the submitted pump meet the technical specifications of the bid. Flow, head, type, configuration, materials, pressure rating, standard complying, motor power, efficiency, coupling, seal type....

2. Schedule - Can it be supplied in time for your project.

3. Service/Maintenance - Is the vendor nearby, do they offer 24/7 support and parts, do they stock common parts or whole assemblies, are they competent and reliable, does the plant have 200 Vendor A pumps and this will be the first Vendor B? Do they factory test?

4. Price.

Assuming the bids meet flow, head, materials etc etc as already stated above, the most important consideration is pump efficiency.
You don't say what size these units are in terms of installed power, large units can use thousands of dollars worth of power over a year and 1 or 2% difference in pump efficiency can cost more than the initial pump purchase in a very short time period.