Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Challenging Grounding Situation for Temporary Power Plan -- Could use advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajz

Chemical
May 8, 2017
US
Hello all,

Let me preface by stating that I am not an electrical engineer, but have enough knowledge to get myself into trouble...

I am assisting with preliminary design for a temporary power plan.

Background[ul]
[li]We are planning to install a 50 KVA 480-240/120 1-phase transformer about 150 ft from a substation/MCC. [/li]
[li]The transformer will supply power to two electrical service panels that will be located in close proximity to the transformer (<15 ft).[/li]
[li]The two electrical service panels will be out in an open area, however due to the nature of the industrial facility, there are many underground utilities directly beneath the site.[/li]
[li]The site cannot be changed due to the requirement of other utilities and services.[/li]
[/ul]
Based on my (very) limited understanding of electrical codes, I roughly understand that NEC requires electrical grounding rods to be driven for each the...
[ol 1]
[li]50 KVA Transformer[/li]
[li]Service panel 1 -- 25 KW calculated load[/li]
[li]Service panel 2 -- 10 KW calculated load[/li]
[/ol]
I also understand that one of the requirements for electrical grounding rods is that they be driven as close to the transformer/service panel as possible, and also X feet away from each other.

Hopefully you understand my predicament by now.