Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Changing/Increasing GT Ramp Rate for warm start of a CCGT Powerstation 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

daviwy

Mechanical
Oct 14, 2008
NG
I am currently loking at increasing the ramp rate of a Gas Turbine on a CCGT system, and have a temperature gradient limit.

Can people please just give me what sort of concerns / advice / look outs / issues I should be on the look for as I am not experienced at this.

the only concern I can think of is:
- the HRSG units associated to it
- temperature cycling and low cycle corroison fatigue

any comment will be greatly appreciated

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Ramp rates are restricted by the OEM. It's not just a matter of keeping withing the temperature limits. If you could tell us the manufacturer and type it might help

In general one can double the startup rate of the CTG/ HRSG if one utilizes a properly designed and operated final attemporator ( between boiler outlet and STg inlet) and install a boiler stress analyzer to limit CTG ramp rate to the max permitted by the boiler steam drum and outlet headers ( thermal stress limits). Usually the startup limitation is thermal stress at the steam turbine ; this is sidestepped by using a final attemporator.

Further improvements are available in the design phase, by minimizing drum wall thickness and SH/RH header thickness, full penetration welds at tube stube to header welds ( superheater and reheater), and properly desing spray atemporators ( wide range spray nozzles + long straight run of downstream piping to allow 0.15 sec steam residence time before downstream bend or header.