Changing job after graduating

Status
Not open for further replies.

ismael_

Structural
Aug 23, 2021
FR
Hello everyone,

I'm a fresh engineer graduated in mechanical engineering. I'm about to finish my intership and get hired by the same company I work for, in France.
The past 2 years, I discovered a new passion for programming and my interest increased even more throughout my intership which combines programming and structural analysis. As a result I developped some decent skills, especially on Python. I really love this kind of work, writing, debugging and making complexe algorithme to solve difficult tasks for engineers.
But the issue is that, my future work as an engineer hasn't anything to do with programming and I won't be allowed to continu my inernship work. Also I don't see myself doing meshing, static calculs on CAE softwares in the future.

So my question is :
Is it possible to get into IT whithout wasting too much time ?
What are the steps to follow to make a good transition from structural engineer to IT engineer ?

Thank you in advance for your respond.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

1) Prepare a resume that accurately shows both your education and experience. Do not try to "guess" what you think an employer looking for an IT engineer want's to see. Sometimes employers need employees with odd combinations of qualifications. Even if they don't, your resume will show that you can adapt to new fields.

2) Apply for jobs as an IT engineer. Accept being ignored or rejected as "business", not personal. Keep trying.

Not sure the market in France, but stateside you would be in a tough spot. It’s fairly common today for MEs to write basic macros and programs, but when that goes from a side-project to full-time it’s usually turned over to an experienced programmer. If you’re looking to get into IT otherwise then all you need are a few Comptia or other certs.