Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Charging for Meetings/Site Visits Prior to Being Engaged 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfstructural

Structural
Feb 1, 2009
US
I'm curious what everyone's practices are. I'm a structural engineer. When I get calls from potential clients regarding coming out and inspecting a building or given condition I obviously have a fee for that...I'd consider that forensic related work. When I have potential design clients, I've been playing around with charging a fee to come as I've been getting more and more busy and can't be driving around and meeting for free as I would be wasting a lot of time. Recently I went out and met with a homeowner to look over his architectural drawings and site as they need a retaining wall for an addition to their home. When I brought up that I charge a fee to come out, he paused for several seconds and I could tell he didn't like it lol. So I said I'll come out for free and include the fee in the proposal if he decides to move forward.

Now I had another call the other day and was sent several invoices for steel trusses and columns from a potential client. They are looking to design a new 200'x80' building. I am debating to charge a fee as they want to meet on site, which is 1.5 hours from me. That will take up over half a day. I will tell them if they decide to move forward I'll remove it from the proposal, where it's typically included.

Just curious on other peoples' practices when it comes to this.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Depends on the market I suppose - I worked during a lengthy recession for engineers in my discipline in Alberta and we largely had to do stuff like this for free to win jobs. Now I work in a booming market and we either charge for it upfront or just bury it in the fee (very easy because fees are padded comically where I work now).