Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Choosing ESD Suppression Diodes

Status
Not open for further replies.

bamix

Electrical
Jun 24, 2019
US
I've tried to use various sources online to answer the following questions, but I haven't found any that matches exactly my concerns. This is my first time designing a circuit, so please bear with me.

I'm designing a circuit with the following components needing ESD protection:

RS-485 cable connection to 5x2 header with 5 signals included: +5V power, Rx+, Rx-, Tx+, Tx-; SN75176BP is transceiver used; signals are 0 to 5 VDC; transceiver has absolute max voltage rating of +15V

ESE-24SV3 detector switches connected to AT89S8253 MCU; MCU ports read in logic High-Low; Vcc for MCU is +5V; MCU has absolute max voltage rating of +7V

I have found TVS diodes with standoff voltages greater than the normal operating voltages of the signals and clamping voltages less than the MCU and transceiver absolute max ratings. However, the clamping voltages increase as more current is applied, and at ESD discharge of 8kV the clamping voltages are way higher than the absolute maximum rating, while lower discharge voltages stay under the clamping voltage requirement.

Questions:
1. I'm wondering how I should go about choosing the diodes, since it seems like there will always be a point where the diodes will not be able to clamp voltage low enough.

2. For example, if I want my standoff voltage to be >5.5V and clamping <6 V, and I can only manage to find diodes that have clamping voltage < 6V while standoff voltage >20 V, would it be okay to choose such diodes? My main concern is that the standoff voltage is so much higher than the normal operating range, which means that the diode will not start conducting until the device is basically exposed to a dangerous voltage.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you