Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Circular Concrete Column Shear Capacity

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bender888

Structural
Feb 17, 2009
AU
Hello.

I am a freshmen structural engineer - (12 weeks experience lol) so sorry if this is an obvious question :)

I have circular concrete column with a diamater of 600mm reinforced around the perimeter with 8 N20 bars - (20mm diam, 500Mpa)which can be seen attached.

This column is subjected to Axial Compression, Bending and Shear.

I used Rapt to calculate the ultimate capacity for the bending, compression interaction. Not sure how you guys do it but it takes to long by hand to plot the interaction curves lol.

I ran into a problem calculating the shear capacity of a circular section reinforced around the perimeter since there is no direct reference in the standard.

According to the Australian Standards 3600 the shear capacity of a rectangular section is a function of the distance from the extreme compression fiber to the outermost tensiles steel - (do). I am not aware of other design standards just make note i'm not refering to the effective depth - (d)

For an approximate analysis I have treated the the circular section as a equivalent rectangle and calculated The shear capacity (Vuc = B1*B3*bw*do*cuberoot((Ast*f'c)/(do*bw)).
I made the appropiate reduction for the axial force through the coefficient B3. I used the neutral axis from the rapt results to calculate my Ast which takes into account the prying action of the reinforcement.

The distance (do) I used can be seen in my approximate diagram.

Is this form of analysis acceptable?