Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Civil Engineer wanting Structural Engineering career 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jackn

Civil/Environmental
Nov 14, 2012
GB
Hi everyone,

I am a civil engineer working in the UK with the following background:

MEng (Hons) Civil & Structural Engineering (2008)

1 year experience as a graduate structural engineer designing steel framed retail stores and concrete pad foundations
2.5 years as a civil engineer project managing highway and bridge schemes. Current experience in waste management and pharmaceutical sectors.

My academic background is structural engineering and I worked for a small structural engineering firm for 7 months before being made redundant. Since then I have been working as a civil engineer for 2 large companies (50,000+ employees worldwide). I have tried to get in to structural firms but have not been successful.

I am currently working on the ICE chartership but would rather do the IStructE route as this is where my general passion and interest lies.

Anyone give me advice/help as to how I can get back into structural engineering? I've tried looking for structural experience with the current company I'm at but this is proving difficult.

I've had a couple of interviews with structural firms but they require me to have more experience before being considered.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I actually made this transition 5-6 years ago. My second job was in civil but after 1 year I knew I didn't want to be in that field and wanted to get to structural (my first job was construction).