Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Civil Engineering Website 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rodi M.

Civil/Environmental
Jan 19, 2020
US
Hi Everyone,

I am a civil engineer and as a hobby I am building a civil engineering website to contain all common problems' calculators in Structural, Hydraulics, Environmental, and Geotechnical. The process is extensive and requires a lot of time, although I check solutions as I am building each calculator, I am not checking manually other input/output. I am continuously building and releasing new calculators, so there is still a lot of material missing.

this website is not a money maker or anything, it is more like an educational tool and a back of the napkin calcs. check it out, provide comments/feedback, and if you'd like to test any of the calculators to check for accuracy would be awesome.

please visit engineeringautomated.com

thank you
Rodi

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Rodi M. Those are pretty simple calculations - a few comments on one that I looked at (compression members in the structural part)
1. You don't provide any information related to what source, formulae, code, etc. this is based on.
2. Without at least the code reference, there's no way I'd ever use it as each of my designs have to meet particular codes.
3. Codes change over the years so the code version would be essential to know.
4. I can quickly turn to my AISC manual and get better, quicker information than entering Sx, Length, etc.
5. None of this is meant to discourage you, or simple be critical - just giving you feedback.

On the concrete beam - your output here tells me this is "No Good".
How can it even check a beam at all if you don't enter a bending moment into the derivation?